Most places in the US have deadlines for reporting your workplace injury, but there are some exceptions.
Regardless of your local guidelines, we always recommend reporting your injury and filing a case ASAP. Here’s why.
When you’re hurt at work, you should always report your injury ASAP—even if you don’t feel that hurt.
Different states have different deadlines for reporting injuries to your employer, and these times can vary significantly.
For example, hurt workers in Utah have up to 180 days to report their injury, while those in Idaho have half as much time—just 60 days. In some states, your deadline could be as short as 30 days.
In many cases, yes.
Some work-related injuries and illnesses develop over time, and many states have longer timeframes for reporting your injury to account for that.
For example, if you develop COPD on the job, your time period for reporting your illness often doesn’t start until your doctor informs you that your work activities are the cause of your disease.
Yes. In most states, there are separate deadlines for reporting your injury and for filing a workers comp claim.
For example, the deadline for filing a claim in Utah is 1 year from the date of your injury, while Idaho has no filing deadline as long as you’ve met the 60-day reporting deadline.
Insurance companies routinely deny claims by those who report their injuries late.
If your claim has been denied, that doesn’t mean you won’t be able to receive workers comp benefits, however.
Many states excuse late reporting in certain scenarios—such as when your employer was aware of your injury, or in situations when you weren’t able to notify your employer on time.
If your claim has been denied due to late reporting, you can still appeal. However, before doing so, you should consider hiring an attorney.
If you’ve been injured at work, we’re here to help. Contact us today and we’ll help you get the workers comp benefits you deserve.
*The information provided on this website does not, and is not intended to, constitute legal advice; instead, all information, content, and materials available on this site are for general informational purposes only.
Do you have a case?
The longer you wait, the lower the chance you have of getting compensation. Contact us NOW for a free case evaluation.Free Consultation
you pay nothing until we win
Davis & Sanchez
What's an Independent Medical Eval?
This law firm is owned by nonlawyers. Some of the people who own and manage this entity are not lawyers. This means that some services or protections (like attorney-client privilege), may or may not be different from those you could get from a traditional law firm. If you have questions, please contact us at 801.935.2012.