Are you wondering how long-term injuries might affect your workers compensation benefits in Utah? If so, then you’re not alone.
Workers comp law is tricky, but we’re going to help explain what you need to know about receiving medical treatment and compensation after your injury.
You have no time limit to receive the medical care you need to treat your work-related illness or injury. However, there are other deadlines you need to be aware of.
You must report your illness or injury to your employer within 180 days. Failure to do so could disqualify you from receiving workers compensation benefits.
Report your injury ASAP.
Better yet, report your injury as soon as it happens. The earlier you report your injury, the less suspicious it will look to insurance companies (and the lower your chance of having your claim denied).
Any medical bill you receive for treatment of your work-related injury must be submitted to the workers compensation insurance carrier within one year of the date of treatment.
When disputes arise about the amount of compensation you should be receiving, applications must be filed with the Utah Labor Commission within six years of the date of your injury.
Although the above deadlines are the most common, other ones you should be aware of are:
Travel expenses for medical evaluations are often pre-paid by insurance companies, but make sure beforehand.
You’re protected by workers compensation laws as soon as you start working.
Length of employment is not a valid reason to deny a workers compensation claim.
Even if you work part-time or you’ve only been working at your job for a short period of time, you’re still eligible for workers compensation benefits if you’re hurt at work.
Your employer’s workers comp insurance carrier has 21 days to:
In situations where further investigation is needed, your carrier will have an additional 24 days to process your claim.
Once accepted, disability compensation checks are typically issued once every two weeks.
You’ll receive temporary disability compensation until:
If your workers compensation claim has been denied—and it happens frequently—it might be time to contact a workers compensation attorney in Utah.
Contact Davis & Sanchez today, and rely on our experience to help secure the compensation you deserve.
*The information provided on this website does not, and is not intended to, constitute legal advice; instead, all information, content, and materials available on this site are for general informational purposes only.
Do you have a case?
The longer you wait, the lower the chance you have of getting compensation. Contact us NOW for a free case evaluation.Free Consultation
you pay nothing until we win
Davis & Sanchez
What's an Independent Medical Eval?
This law firm is owned by nonlawyers. Some of the people who own and manage this entity are not lawyers. This means that some services or protections (like attorney-client privilege), may or may not be different from those you could get from a traditional law firm. If you have questions, please contact us at 801.935.2012.