Idaho has generous filing deadlines for work-related injuries. But, that doesn’t mean you should wait forever.
Just how long do you have to file a case?
The sooner you report your injury and file your claim, the better. Here’s why.
In Idaho, you have 60 days to report your injury or illness. This time limit starts on the day you were injured, or made aware of your injury or illness.
After that, your employer files a First Report of Injury with the Idaho Industrial Commission.
Not sure whether or not your employer has workers compensation insurance?
Do not miss this deadline—failure to report your injury on time could make you ineligible to file a workers comp claim.
Once you’ve reported your injury, you will file a workers compensation claim to receive benefits.
In Idaho, there is fortunately no deadline to file your claim (assuming you’ve met your injury reporting deadline).
Still, we highly recommend filing claims as soon as possible. Insurance companies look at delayed claims suspiciously, and are more likely to give you trouble.
If you’ve reported your injury and filed your claim successfully, there is no statute of limitations on Idaho medical benefits.
The exception to this rule is when your claim is closed with a lump sum settlement.
Again, let’s assume you meet the reporting and filing requirements.
According to Idaho state law, if you’ve been paid income benefits and they’ve been discontinued for more than four years after your accident, then you have one year from the date of your last benefit payment to request a hearing for additional benefits.
Additionally, if you weren’t paid income benefits during the first year after your injury, then you may not be eligible for future income benefits.
When in doubt, contact an attorney.
This area of Idaho workers comp law is tricky—if you believe you’re still eligible for income benefits, contact a workers compensation attorney for help.
Meeting the notification deadline is essential for securing workers comp benefits. However, there are some exceptions. If you’ve missed the 60 day limit, contact a workers compensation attorney in Idaho ASAP to weigh your options.
Davis & Sanchez has a long track record of helping injured Idahoans just like you. Get in touch, and let’s help you get back on your feet.
*The information provided on this website does not, and is not intended to, constitute legal advice; instead, all information, content, and materials available on this site are for general informational purposes only.
Do you have a case?
The longer you wait, the lower the chance you have of getting compensation. Contact us NOW for a free case evaluation.Free Consultation
you pay nothing until we win
Davis & Sanchez
What's an Independent Medical Eval?
This law firm is owned by nonlawyers. Some of the people who own and manage this entity are not lawyers. This means that some services or protections (like attorney-client privilege), may or may not be different from those you could get from a traditional law firm. If you have questions, please contact us at 801.935.2012.