For roughly 30 years, Utah workers compensation dependents have only been eligible to receive $5 per week. That adds up to just $25 per week for a family of 6, and while that might have been OK in 1988, the cost of living has skyrocketed since then.
We at Davis & Sanchez know all too well that our clients and other hurt workers across the state need and deserve more than that. That’s why we developed a proposal to quadruple the claimable amount for dependents in order to better reflect inflation over the past three decades.
After presenting our proposal to other law firms and members of the Workers Compensation Advisory Council, we’re happy to say that (as of July 2018), workers compensation carriers are now required to pay dependents of hurt workers $20 per week, which includes care for a spouse and four children.
From $25 per week to $100 per week—that’s a huge increase, and a change we hope will make the lives of our clients and their families just a little bit easier.
Hey I'm Jacob, the operations manager around here. If you're looking for a workers compensation attorney in Utah, or a workers compensation law firm in Idaho, you've come to the right place. Please subscribe below to be added to our mailing list where you'll receive email notifications when we drop more great content like this.
Not sure if you actually have a case? No problem. Download our free PDF and find out if you have a solid workers comp case. The PDF is 100% free and will be immediately sent to your email inbox.