Filing a workers compensation claim in Idaho isn’t as difficult as you might think.
However, there are deadlines and procedures you need to be aware of before you seek compensation. If you’ve been hurt at work, here’s how you file a workers comp claim in Idaho.
After an injury, here are the basic steps that lead to workers comp benefits:
If you’re wondering how to file for workers comp in Idaho, one of the most important things to remember is that you must report your injury to your employer within 60 days.
This is one of the only hard deadlines in Idaho workers compensation law. Failure to meet the reporting deadline could prevent you from recovering any compensation.
Get your injury or illness treated ASAP. It’s not just about your health—the sooner you seek treatment, the less likely your claim will be denied.
There’s no reason not to get treated the day of your accident.
Your employer may have a preferred doctor. If you believe the doctor’s diagnosis doesn’t have your best interests in mind, you can seek a second opinion.
Your doctor’s opinion is worth its weight in gold.
Find out why “independent” medical evaluations are anything but independent
Ideally, you will pick your primary doctor. But whatever you do, don’t rely on the opinion of any doctor recommended by the insurance company.
Adjuster-recommended physicians care about the insurance company. Not you.
After you report your injury to your employer, your employer must notify their insurance company and file a form called First Report of Injury and Claim for Benefits with the Idaho Industrial Commission.
If your employer doesn’t file the form, you must do it yourself. Your attorney can help you fill out the form accurately.
If possible, try your best to gather evidence from the scene of your injury.
Take as many pictures as possible, and try to get the contact information of any witnesses to your accident.
Every piece of information regarding your injuries is important.
If you’re wondering how to file a workers compensation claim in Idaho, the best place to start is with an experienced lawyer.
You may hire a lawyer at any point in this process—immediately after you’re injured, before you file a claim, or even after your claim is denied.
If you face any type of issue or believe you’ll have problems getting compensation, contact an experienced lawyer immediately.
This is especially true for recorded statements. Your lawyer will coach you on what to say so that you don’t permanently damage your claim during recorded statements.
Anything you say can be used against your claim.
But that doesn’t mean you should lie—always be honest about previous injuries and questions about your accident.
Your lawyer will help you take care of any paperwork needed to file your claim. Luckily, Idaho has no time limit on filing claims—assuming you’ve reported your injury within 60 days.
Your lawyer will help you navigate the workers comp claim process.
After your claim is approved, you’ll be able to receive workers compensation benefits for your injuries.
Insurance companies may ask for additional information before approving your claim. This is normal.
Your claim could also be denied. If so, it’s not the end of the road—your attorney can help you file an appeal.
You could be eligible to receive numerous types of benefits depending on your injury.
Medical benefits include reasonably necessary medical care, such as:
These benefits work as wage replacement if you’re required to miss work for more than five days.
Compensates you in situations where you are able to work, but only in a part-time capacity.
These benefits compensate you for permanent disabilities, even in situations where you can return to work.
If a worker dies because of injuries sustained at work, his or her decedents will receive death benefits for 500 weeks.
Up to three minor, dependent children are eligible for benefits.
Workers compensation law is complicated, and mistakes can cause you to miss out on the benefits you deserve.
Avoid mistakes and work with an experienced workers compensation lawyer instead.
Davis & Sanchez has years of combined experience helping hurt Idaho workers get paid for their work-related injuries. Contact us today, and let’s get started.
Still have questions about Idaho workers comp? We have answers.
Workers compensation laws in Idaho are designed to compensate workers for injuries sustained at their place of work, or while performing job-related duties.
Virtually any injury or illness sustained at work could qualify for workers comp benefits.
Just a few examples include:
The list goes on and on. Suffice it to say that if you were hurt at work, then you’re likely eligible for workers comp benefits.
If you’re an employee at an Idaho business who works full-time, part-time, seasonally, or occasionally, then you are most likely covered by workers compensation laws.
In fact, almost every business in Idaho—with few exceptions—must have workers comp coverage before hiring their first employee.
Idaho workers compensation benefits can cover costs involving:
No. Your employer is not allowed to push any of their workers comp insurance costs onto their employees.
Yes. “No fault” means that you do not need to prove negligence in your injury—meaning you can receive workers compensation benefits without filing a lawsuit against your employer.
Short answer? It depends.
While many workers compensation claims are straightforward, there’s always a chance that insurance companies will deny a perfectly valid claim.
In these situations—or whenever you need guidance in filing a claim—it’s best to contact a workers compensation attorney.
*The information provided on this website does not, and is not intended to, constitute legal advice; instead, all information, content, and materials available on this site are for general informational purposes only.
Do you have a case?
The longer you wait, the lower the chance you have of getting compensation. Contact us NOW for a free case evaluation.Free Consultation
you pay nothing until we win
Davis & Sanchez
What's an Independent Medical Eval?
This law firm is owned by nonlawyers. Some of the people who own and manage this entity are not lawyers. This means that some services or protections (like attorney-client privilege), may or may not be different from those you could get from a traditional law firm. If you have questions, please contact us at 801.935.2012.